The Beauty of November

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Sweaters are back in rotation. Boats shoes on my feet. Holiday drink in my hand. Tan line is officially nonexistent. November is here.

Idk about you, but November is one of the most sobering months for me. October always seems to be brimming with events and activities, and along with them, some not so wise decisions. Don’t get me wrong, I live a “no ragrets!” life, but this month I always seem to find myself with more clarity than usual.

Maybe it’s the crisp cool air that clears up some of the pollution in our minds, but whatever the case, we become more in tune with ourselves and with the world around us.

There’s no doubt about it that I’m in a moment of transition. While I’m still in college, graduation is quickly approaching in a couple of months. And as soon May hits, my life will be completely different. At least, it should, right?

Although I’m ridiculously behind in the homework count, the underbelly of senior year is that I’m focusing more on narrowing down a plan for after I graduate. At this point, connecting with a future employee is way more important that getting an A in some class. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not advertising that grades don’t matter; what I’m saying is that my priorities have changed. And so have I.

This past Sunday I was listening to TD Jakes and he spoke about the transition the Israelites had to go through in order to be prepared to reach the Promised Land. When a method that used to work for you suddenly stops working, that is when you now it’s time to grow, that a transition is coming.

Ever since I set foot on campus this semester, I started to feel like a foreigner. The culture feels different, it’s more difficult to socialize and relate to people, and even the messages in chapel just don’t resonate with me in the way that they used to. Like a plant with roots that are starting to grow out of the pot, I have officially outgrown this place.

Even though sobering moments aren’t always the easiest to deal with, they are still vital to developing our next steps in life.

So, if you find your head a bit cloudy, take a walk. Get some fresh air. Let November do its thing.

-Priscila💫

3 thoughts on “The Beauty of November

Leave a Reply

